Skip to main content
site header image

New Students Orientation Libguide: Library Collections

Course Books

Forgot to bring your textbook to class? We got you covered! For the convenience of our law students, we have copies of required textbooks for ALL courses. You can stop by the circulation desk to check them out for 2 hours.

 

Course Reserve and Sample Exams

You can access course reserve materials and sample exams through the law library catalog. 

Go to the law library webpage and click "Find Course Materials"

You can search by course name or by instructor's last name.

You will be asked to log in with your NetID and password before you can get the search results. If the course materials are in print, you need to go to the circulation desk and our staff there will help you retrieving the items. 

Study Aids and Wellness Collections

Located at the entrance of our reserved reading room, the law library now has a Study Aids Collection and a Wellness Collection. If you have any suggestions for adding more titles to these two collections, please do not hesitate to let us know!

New York Times Subscription

Our law library offers current UT Law students, faculty and staff group access to New York Times. To set up an account, go through myUTLaw and click "Register NY Times"  under the Library tab. 

Be sure to use your UT email to create the account. 

Most Commonly Used Databases

Here is a list of most commonly used databases for law students. You can also find brief descriptions of these databases at the library webpage

Westlaw Law School Sign on   

Lexis Nexis for Law School

Bloomberg Law  

HeinOnline

Index to Legal Periodicals

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Legislative Insight

Social Science Research Network

Supreme Court Records and Briefs

UT Libraries Databases

---The University of Tennessee has general subscriptions to many databases in different disciplines, current UT students get access through NetID login.

*You will need separate password to access Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg. Other databases can be accessed directly at UTK campus or with NetID if you are off-campus. 

If you haven't got your password for Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg Law, you can contact Sibyl Marshall at sibyl@utk.edu for help.