Recent Acquisitions at the Joel A. Katz Law Library: Home

Automated Agencies is the definitive account of how automation is transforming government explanations of the law to the public. Joshua D. Blank and Leigh Osofsky draw on extensive research regarding the federal government's turn to automated legal guidance through chatbots, virtual assistants, and other online tools. Blank and Osofsky argue that automated tools offer administrative benefits for both the government and the public in terms of efficiency and ease of use, yet these automated tools may also mislead members of the public.
Added 7/25

In honor of the 100th anniversary of the Federal Arbitration Act, this volume brings together a diverse group of leading scholars and practitioners to celebrate its successes and propose specific reforms. Readers will gain insight into how the Federal Arbitration Act impacts the modern practice of arbitration and how the Supreme Court's interpretation of the Act undermines its fairness. Focusing on domestic, commercial and consumer, as well as securities and labor and employment arbitration, this book provides a roadmap to enhance the fairness and coherence of the Act.
Added 7/25

A full trial has become an uncommon phenomenon in many legal systems, replaced largely by promotion of settlement and plea-bargaining. Offering a new perspective on possible futures of legal systems, including the use of artificial intelligence, the authors provide context for redesigning the architecture of conflicts. Moreover, they introduce new jurisprudential perspectives on the relationship between law and conflict resolution, with an emphasis on the judicial role.
Added 7/25

An authoritative handbook on the intersection of commercial law and technology, addressing pressing social issues and appealing to academics, lawyers, technologists, students, and policymakers around the world.
Added 12/25

This work offers a contextual comparative analysis of commercial contracts from their origin until the present time. It identifies contractual concepts, principles, rules, doctrines, methods of reasoning and commercial practices that have contributed most to mankind's economic development. It explains how certain selfish and altruistic components of standard and fiduciary commercial and financial practices combine to cause the necessary trust and cooperation that makes possible both economic growth and legal institutional longevity.
Added 7/25

This book deepens our understanding of the complex inter-relations between traditional and digital assets. The first of its kind to present a comprehensive review of studies on valuation and pricing of digital assets in general, it introduces new models of portfolio strategies with digital assets.
Added 7/25

This book supports the deeper engagement of public lawyers in digital currency developments which threaten dramatic changes in the relationship between individuals and government authorities. No contemporary issue is more widely acknowledged and less understood than that of digital currencies.
Added 12/25

This book fundamentally rethinks the role of law in business by seamlessly integrating legal knowledge into business practice to create and capture value. It is ideal for legal and management scholars and practitioners who want to understand how legal and business professionals can cooperatively create a sustainable competitive advantage.
Added 9/25

This book elaborates and interrogates the idea of evil corporations from a diverse range of disciplines. There has long been awareness of systemic harms inflicted by corporations, but this awareness has rarely led to any effective legal means to prevent and/or respond adequately to them.
Added 12/25

The 2025 Survey of Federal Class Action Law: A U.S. Supreme Court and Circuit-by-Circuit Analysis is a valuable tool for both in-house and outside counsel who confront the prospect of litigating class actions in federal circuits with which they may have little or no experience and must make informed recommendations on removal. Succinct summaries are prepared by litigators from each of the respective circuits and address changes in rules and statutes as well as significant case law.
Added 7/25

Dignity represents the inherent and equal worth of each one of us. It is how we think about the value of our lives. It's how we think about justice, and about the injustices that cause people to struggle and suffer. In Dignity in America, Erin Daly shows how we can resolve the social conflicts that divide us as a nation by transforming them under the lens of human dignity.
Added 7/25

Pushback explores the ways in which the minority party in Congress, and the minority political party more generally, can use unpopular decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court to drive a wedge into the majority party coalition. Offers compelling hy­potheses about how the two major parties can use unpopular Supreme Court rulings to shift the political momentum and win elections.
Added 7/25

The Cost of Plea Bargains tells the story of plea bargaining's rise, the early roots of the movement to reform pleas, and the work and recommendations of the American Bar Association's Plea Bargain Task Force. In addition to offering readers the complete task force report, the book also offers deeper insights into many of the problems posed by the modern plea system, including coercive plea bargaining, false and fictional pleas, and inconsistency in plea outcomes, among other issues.
Added 9/25

This work provides an authoritative survey of America's long and turbulent history of rebellions against laws and institutions of the state, ranging from violent acts of sedition and terrorism to acts of nonviolent civil disobedience against discriminatory or unjust laws.
Added 9/25

Dismantling the Death Penalty is a succinct, accessible, and lively overview of research on the costs and consequences of capital punishment.
Added 12/25

Blending history, scholarly analysis, and pop culture, this book provides the necessary context to understand vigilantism in the US and globally.
Added 12/25

Dartmouth College v. Woodward examines the landmark case decided by the United States Supreme Court in 1819 after New Hampshire's state legislature attempted to amend Dartmouth's charter to place the college under greater public control. Adam R. Nelson interprets the case not only as one about higher-education governance or American corporate law in an emerging constitutional order, and not simply as a case about the Marshall Court's preference for 'private' over 'public' initiative as the primary driver of social and commercial development. More fundamentally, Nelson uses the case to illustrate a broad ideological shift from commonwealth republicanism to market liberalism in both education and jurisprudence during the early nineteenth century.
Added 7/25

This book provides a road map to navigate efficiently the transformational changes in chemical product law, identifies the practical business and product stewardship implications of the new normal in product regulation, and explains the urgent need for supply chain awareness.
Added 9/25

This is a practical guide to international assisted reproductive technology (ART) law and practice for practicing lawyers, covering surrogacy, gamete donation, and family formation. It also covers technical, legal, and practical issues to be considered.
Added 9/25

Jill Wieber Lens, the nation's foremost expert on stillbirth and the law, blends personal experience and legal analysis to bring us an original, essential guide to this all-too-often unrecognized public health crisis. By exposing how the law shapes stillbirth, inhibits prevention, and fails those most affected, Lens argues for a series of pragmatic, data-driven changes to the legal landscape that enjoy broad popular support and strengthen reproductive justice and reproductive rights.
Added 6/25

Dartmouth College v. Woodward examines the landmark case decided by the United States Supreme Court in 1819 after New Hampshire's state legislature attempted to amend Dartmouth's charter to place the college under greater public control. Adam R. Nelson interprets the case not only as one about higher-education governance or American corporate law in an emerging constitutional order, and not simply as a case about the Marshall Court's preference for 'private' over 'public' initiative as the primary driver of social and commercial development. More fundamentally, Nelson uses the case to illustrate a broad ideological shift from commonwealth republicanism to market liberalism in both education and jurisprudence during the early nineteenth century.
Added 7/25

Bad Company by Megan Greenwell exposes the pervasive influence of private equity in American life, from healthcare and housing to media and infrastructure. Through the personal stories of four workers devastated by private equity takeovers, the book reveals how these firms enrich a powerful elite while destabilizing communities and deepening inequality.
Added 7/25

Examines the publishing history of United States Declaration of Independence prints and broadsides, illustrating a growing appreciation of its symbolic significance and an increasing desire to view it in reliable reproductions. Graphic arts historian John Bidwell traces the fascinating history of Declaration prints and broadsides and reveals the American public’s changing attitudes toward this iconic text.
Added 7/25

A landmark investigation of the chemical industry's decades-long campaign to hide the devastating effects of "forever chemicals," told through the story of a small town on the frontline of an epic public health crisis.
Added 7/25

America was once a country that could do big things - building the world's greatest rail network, a vast electrical grid, interstate highways, abundant housing, Social Security, NASA, and more. But today, on issues that touch us each and every day, from housing to clean energy to high-speed rail, we feel stuck, unable to move the needle, ruled by a vetocracy that uses its power to stifle progress. Marc Dunkelman's provocative analysis of the architecture and use of power investigates how we moved from a can-do culture to one in which new red tape is added to a world already hampered by it-and how we can find our way back.
Added 12/25

Cancer Rights Law provides an overview of key areas of the law that often come into play for individuals who have been diagnosed with cancer and their caregivers, including health insurance, employment, disability insurance, genetics, estate planning and medical decision making, and finances and consumer rights.
Added 7/25

This handbook provides step-by-step guidance on dealing with the medical-legal issues involved in litigating a nursing home case for both plaintiff and defense lawyers. It also provides guidance to nursing home administrators on how to avoid liability and improve quality through regulatory compliance.
Added 7/25

Invention Analysis and Claiming: A Patent Lawyer's Guide, Third Edition presents a comprehensive approach to analyzing inventions and capturing them in a sophisticated set of patent claims. A central theme is the importance of using the problem-solution paradigm to identify the "inventive concept" before the claim-drafting begins.
Added 7/25

The two volumes of this comprehensive handbook give practitioners insights on patent litigation from prelitigation considerations through post-grant patent practice. This invaluable treatise, in 31 chapters, breaks down strategic reasoning behind every phase of patent infringement litigation, from prelitigation issues and initial client counseling through the filing of the Notice of Appeal.
Added 7/25

Almost all intrastate conflicts involve ceasefires, yet we know little about their variable role or what makes them effective or ineffective in ending civil conflict. When are ceasefires used, when and how do ceasefire and political negotiation processes foster or impede each other, and how do various context factors condition this relationship? Ceasefires applies a novel analytical framework to nine different cases.
Added 12/25

The 1948 Genocide Convention is a vital legal tool in the international campaign against impunity. Its provisions, including its enigmatic definition of the crime and its pledge both to punish and to prevent the 'crime of crimes', have now been considered in important judgments by the International Court of Justice, the international criminal tribunals and domestic courts.
Added 7/25

The rich, untold origin story of the ubiquitous web cookie—what’s wrong with it, why it’s being retired, and how we can do better.
Instead of asking how people consent, Jones asks who exactly is consenting and to what. Packed into those cookie pop-ups, she explains, are three distinct areas of law with three different characters who can consent. Within (mainly European) data protection law, the data subject consents. Within communication privacy law, the user consents. And within consumer protection law, the privacy consumer consents. These areas of law have very different histories, motivations, institutional structures, expertise, and strategies, so consent—and the characters who can consent—plays a unique role in those areas of law.
Added 7/25

Considers balancing free speech and containing dangerous online content to reduce risks of digital platforms during elections, pandemics or everyday social interactions. Offers an interdisciplinary approach with insights from different geographies and parallel challenges of managing global phenomena with national policies and regulations.
Added 7/25

Black thinkers in the antebellum United States grappled with what it meant to inhabit a place, a history, and a violent legal regime. In newspapers and pamphlets, political speeches, and fiction, Black writers persistently imagined alternative and liberatory legal futures. In reading these writers as architects of legal possibility, Faith Barter mobilizes the coincidental intimacy of prose and the legal term pro se, which refers to litigants who represent themselves in court. The book studies multiple literary genres-short stories, novels, freedom narratives, speeches, confessions, periodicals, and pamphlets-alongside legal historical treatises, trial transcripts, judicial opinions, and statutes.
Added 7/25

This book provides a comprehensive interdisciplinary analysis of the sustainable and ethical integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) within legal education, offering practical strategies for balancing innovation with ethical responsibility. Discussing the intersection of legal studies, technology and ethics, the book focuses on AI's role in reshaping professional education.
Added 7/25

Many books on legal and marketing focus on mindset. Here, I focus on changing behavior-not waiting until you feel ready, but taking small, actionable steps. You don't need to think like an entrepreneur to act like one. As you implement these actions, your mindset will evolve, but the focus here is to help you take concrete steps toward marketing success.
Added 7/25

A prizewinning historian uncovers the first instances of reparations in America, paid to slaveholders, not former slaves.
Added 9/25

A sweeping history of the Native Southerners who challenged European empires from the inside. This book tells the story of Indigenous leaders who wrote their principles into Spanish and English law. Their petitions stand as enduring contributions to American political thought, and it was these "vassals" and "subjects" who gave meaning to the modern idea of tribal sovereignty.
Added 12/25

In this book, leading law academics along with lawyers, activists and others demonstrate what legislation could look like if its concern was to create justice for women. Each chapter contains a short piece of legislation - proposed in order to address a contemporary legal problem from a feminist perspective.
Added 7/25

Explains how legislators strategically use congressional committees and hearings to collect information from outside Congress. By examining witnesses who testify in front of Congress, we provide a picture of how partisan incentives determine how and from whom Congress seeks information.
Added 7/25

This book offers a new theoretical take on clashes of rights between private actors, or the "horizontal application" of rights. It will be of interest to scholars across the social sciences and humanities, particularly those studying law and politics, the relationship between government and civil society, and the public-private divide.
Added 9/25

The Private Is Political not only exposes the threats to our personal and political identity in the age of surveillance capitalism, it also offers a roadmap for an effective means of reining in the worst abuses of Big Tech companies and their authoritarian enablers.
Added 7/25

Legal scholar and architect Sara C. Bronin examines how zoning became such a prevailing force and reveals its impact--and its potential for good. Outdated zoning codes have maintained racial segregation, prioritized cars over people, and enabled great ecological harm. But, as Bronin argues, once we recognize the power of zoning, we can harness it to create the communities we desire, and deserve.
Added 6/25

This third edition is a resource for lawyers and practitioners when determining whether a company is an investment company. It provides practical explanations about how to apply the most commonly-used exceptions and exemptions from investment company status, and identifies considerations under various exceptions and exemptions that can affect a lawyer's opinion, practice, and advice.
Added 7/25

In this book, leading law academics along with lawyers, activists and others demonstrate what legislation could look like if its concern was to create justice for women. Each chapter contains a short piece of legislation - proposed in order to address a contemporary legal problem from a feminist perspective.
Added 7/25

Since the early 2000s, space has become an increasingly crowded and contested environment. The expanding number of countries and companies involved and the failure of international management mechanisms (rules, laws, and treaties) to keep up with the pace of the spread of space technology has raised the risks of conflict and stressed existing space resources, creating difficult problems in space traffic management, debris mitigation, radio-spectrum crowding, space situational awareness, and military security.
Added 9/25

Offering a critical perspective on tax enforcement and economic inequality, this book sheds light on the challenges of tax noncompliance by the rich and proposes innovative legal rules to address the tax gap.
Added 6/25

This guide provides a comprehensive, step-by-step approach to mastering e-discovery, ensuring that legal professionals are well-equipped to handle electronic evidence efficiently and effectively. In today's digital age, the landscape of legal discovery has evolved dramatically. The proliferation of electronic data has transformed the way legal professionals approach the discovery process, making it both a challenge and an opportunity. This book is designed to be an essential guide for practitioners navigating the complexities of e-discovery.
Added 9/25

Drawing on historical, literary, sociological, and legal analysis, this rich collection of original, interdisciplinary and international contributions demonstrates how inheritance is and has always been about far more than the set of legal processes for the distribution of wealth and property upon death. The contributions range from exploring the intractable tensions underlying family disputes and the legal and political debates about taxation, to revisiting literary plots in the past and presenting a contemporary artistic challenge of heirship.
Added 7/25