Free Legal Resources Online and at the Joel A. Katz Law Library: Services for the Bar/Alumni

The University of Tennessee Law School has been granted Remote Alumni Access to the HeinOnline Law Journals Library.

To set up an account click on Alumni Portal.

Reference offers a retrieval service of print legal resources available in the Joel A. Katz Law Library. We scan and email these resources directly to the requesting party. Please contact the Reference Desk at 865-974-3771 for assistance. If the reference desk is closed please contact one of our reference research librarians: Sibyl Marshall, Nathan Preuss, or Kris Tobin. 

Public Access Westlaw (“WestPac”)

WestPac includes: case law, statutes, and regulations from all fifty states; federal case law, federal statutes (U. S. C. A.), and federal regulations (CFR and the Federal Register), secondary sources include Black’s Law Dictionary, American Jurisprudence and American Law Reports; Tennessee practice materials, Tennessee legal forms, general legal forms, and Tennessee legal journals and law reviews. West's KeyCite citation service access also included on WestPac.   
Available on College of Law Library public access computers on the first floor adjacent to the Reference Desk.

Joel A. Katz Law Library Cards for Attorneys

• Bring Photo ID & Bar number to the Circulation Desk
• Provide a Circulation Assistant 
• current mailing address
• local phone number
• email address
• Circulation will give you a key fob library card
• for immediate borrowing privileges
• to use to renew materials via the online catalog
• If at a future visit you don't have your key fob library card with you books can be checked out with a photo ID.
• Materials circulate depending on the type of item checked out:
• two weeks for law stacks monographs
• three days for series materials and periodicals
• two hours for secured reserve materials
• Reference materials, Reserve Reading Room materials, and Binder Looseleafs do not circulate.

The Tennessee Collection -- complete sets of Tennessee Legal Materials

• contains complete runs of many Tennessee Code sets:
• the most popular being our complete historical T.C.A. set from 1955 to 2013
• additional sets include Compilations of the Tennessee Code from 1904,1917,1932,1934,1884,1873,1857-8,1836 and 1831.
• contains a complete set of the College of Law law reviews and journals:
• Tennessee Law Review
• contains various editions of treatises written on specific Tennessee legal topics:
• Richards on Tennessee Family Law
• Pritchard on the law of wills and administration of estates: embracing the law and practice in Tennessee
• contains early volumes of the Tennessee Acts
• contains monographs with biographical information on Tennessee judges and lawyers

The Law Library has state of the art copiers adept at copies, scanning, and emailing documents. Copies are ten cents. Copy cards are available near the Circulation Desk. Ask a circulation assistant for help with copy cards and the copiers.

Copiers are located on the first floor of the law library in the Reserve Reading Room and in the copier cubby next to the first floor stairwell.

Cell phone conversations are not permitted inside the law library. Please step outside the library to the rotunda or into the stairwells if a call must be answered.

Food and Drinks are permitted in all areas of the law library, except in Food & Drink Free Zones. Drink containers including soda cans must have lids, tops, or caps. Food is limited to snack type foods. Hot and messy foods are not acceptable. 

The computers designated for public use are for legal research only. 

Click on Library Policies for a complete listing of Joel A. Katz Law Library Policies.