Free Legal Resources Online and at the Joel A. Katz Law Library: Forms, Pleadings, Jury Verdicts, and Apps

The Attorney General posts many pleadings online. Use the search box in the upper left to locate the type of pleading you are interested in.

Sample appellate briefs from the Vowell Law Firm in Tennessee state and federal appellate cases.

Statewide Tennessee court forms from the Administrative Office of the Courts, plus links to online local/county court forms.

You will need a Knox County Public Library card to access the Legal Forms database. If you are not in or near Knox County, you may want to check for a similar database at your local library.

Eclectic selection of free legal forms for Alabama, curated by Justia.com.

Provided by the Georgia Administrative Office of the Courts.

Links to over 140 forms for use in Kentucky courts, provided by the Administrative Office of the Courts.

Searchable database of Kentucky Supreme Court and Court of Appeals briefs, maintained by the Salmon P. Chase Law Library of the University of Northern Kentucky.

Database of appellate briefs maintained by the North Carolina appellate courts. Search functionality is limited.

Provided by the North Carolina courts.

Extensive selection of briefs filed in many different jurisdictions. Sortable by subject matter.

Over 100 briefs, mostly appellate, filed by Jones Day in state and federal courts across the country.

Selection of free legal forms -- mostly transactional -- from FormSwift. Download an editable MS Word file or PDF. No registration or account creation required.

Mostly transactional forms. Although the free forms open as an HTML (web) version, you can copy and paste the form into your word processor and the formatting will be preserved for easy use.

Over 6,000 free forms from Matthew Bender. You will need a (free) account with LexisNexis Communities in order to access the forms. Lexis frequently changes the web address for the free collection of forms, so if the above link does not work, just do a web search for LexisOne free forms.

Merit briefs filed by the Appellate Division of the United States Department of Justice since 1999.

Wiki of verdicts and decisions from all over the country. You can narrow your search by type of case and by state.

Browse recent sample issues. The print version of this reporter is available to read at the UT Law Library. The Law Library provides additional access to jury verdicts via free Westlaw (must be present in the library to use) and LexisNexis (must be on campus or have a UT NetID and password to use).

Simple and easy to use app, free to anyone. Includes access to searchable cases and statutes for all fifty states (plus federal). Link will open in iTunes store.

Link will open in Google Play.

Android version of AllLaw. Link will open in Google Play.

Free app comes preloaded with the Constitution, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, and Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure. State codes can be purchased as separate add-ins. iOS devices only.

Computational knowledge engine - performs many kinds of mathematical and statistical calculations, just for a start. Versions available for all mobile devices. $2.

Desktop and mobile application that allows users to save documents and synchronize them to multiple computers and mobile devices. Available for all platforms. Dropbox account is free, additional storage space may be purchased separately.

Comprehensive time keeping app allows attorneys to record time spent on various matters and clients, track and organize expenses, and more. $9.99 plus an additional $9.99 upgrade to bill directly from the app.

Desktop application, mobile application, and browser plug-in that allow you to save and organize documents, web pages, notes, emails, pictures, and more. Synchronize your saved items and access them via your computer, phone, or tablet. Basic Evernote account and apps are free; a premium account at $45/year allows additional security and the ability to access your items even without a network connection.

A free reference and citation manager, based on the popular Zotero system but modified for use in legal research and writing. Supports Bluebook formatting.

Free Firefox and Chrome plug-in that connects Pacer with an archive of publicly available federal court filings. When you are signed in to Pacer and have Recap installed, it will notify you when a document in your Pacer search results is available for free instead and provide a link to it. Recap will also automatically download a copy of any Pacer document you purchase and place it in the public archive for later users.