LibGuides: Public International Law: United Nations

UN Resolutions: Browsing by Number

UN Documentation Center
Easy resource for locating text of all General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council resolutions – that is, if you have the resolution number or want to browse chronologically (not searchable by text). General Assembly resolutions are listed numerically by UN session. Security Council resolutions listed chronologically by year.

Resolution numbering:
A/RES/50/27 = General Assembly resolution (#27) adopted at the 50th Session
S/RES/1438 (2002) = Security Council Resolution #1438, adopted in 2002
United Nations Digital Library
Input the document number in the search box and the document (and related documents) will be retrieved.

UN Treaties

United Nations Treaty Series
Electronic resource
Text of multilateral and bilateral treaties registered with the United Nations from 1947-present. After following the link, click the "Access Journal" button.
Treaty Indexes
Click on Access Journal, then Treaty Index Search.
Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
Call Number: KZ 171 .M86
First floor Reference shelves or available online.

UN Activities

UN Home Page
From here, access information on:
International Law
Links to International Law Commission, Law of the Sea, Treaties, international courts, etc.
Peace and Security
Links to General Assembly, Security Council, peacekeeping, etc.
Development
Links to international trade, population, statistics, etc.
Human Rights
Links to UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, human rights treaties & treaty-monitoring bodies, ICTY, ICTR, human rights research guide, etc.
Humanitarian Affairs
Links to UN High Commissioner for Refugees, ReliefWeb, etc.

UN Courts and Tribunals

International Court of Justice
Includes judgments (some older cases only available as summaries – for full text of those, see Westlaw INT-ICJ database), current docket, Statute of the Court, and Rules of Court.
International Court of Justice Westlaw INT-ICJ database & Lexis
Full text of documents from 1947 - present. Incomplete coverage of judgments from most recent few years – see instead official ICJ web site listed above.

International Criminal Court This link opens in a new window
Court description, state parties, opinions, investigations, and news.

International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY)
Docket, judgments, legal documents, press releases, publications, etc.
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) – Westlaw databases
Cases = INT-ICTY database
Basic Legal Documents = INT-ICTY-BLD database
Press Releases = INT-ICTY-PR database
Combine cases, legal documents, press releases = INT-ICTY-ALL database
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Docket, judgments, documents, press releases, etc.
Special Court for Sierra Leone
Cases, documents, press releases, audio and video files, etc.

Helpful Resources

Online Catalog This link opens in a new window

Public Access Westlaw

The library maintains a subscription to Westlaw for public use. Our subscription includes statutes, cases, and regulations from all fifty states, as well as from the federal government, together with KeyCite, law reviews, forms, and other practice materials. Access is available on the College of Law Library public access computers.